Life & Times
Novels & Writing
Films & TV
Life & Times - more
Novels & Writing - more
Poldark on TV
Winston Graham Prize
Novels & Writing
Other works included a history of The Spanish Armadas and an historical novel The Grove of Eagles. Winston also wrote his
autobiography Memoirs of a Private Man and another ‘semi’ autobiographical account about his life in Cornwall and the
making of the first Poldark TV series – Poldarks Cornwall. This last was also re-published by Pan Macmillan in 2015 with a
new set of photos to accompany the text which, arguably, tells us as much about Winston Graham, the man, as did the
official autobiography.
Despite such an impressive oeuvre of work it was only after the first television series of the Poldarks that Winston Graham
felt his name was becoming familiar to the public. Before that he was frequently heard to describe himself, somewhat wryly,
as the most successful unknown author in England. He would therefore be particularly pleased to think that perhaps, now,
his name will become known to a whole new generation of readers and viewers.
Winston Graham novels (chronologically by date of publication, First UK Editions)
The House with the Stained Glass Windows (1934)
Into the Fog (1935)
The Riddle of John Rowe (1935)
Without Motive (1936)
The Dangerous Pawn (1937)
The Giant‘s Chair (1938)
Keys of Chance (1939)
Strangers Meeting (1939)
No Exit (1940)
Night Journey (1941)
My Turn Next (1942)
The Merciless Ladies (1944)
Ross Poldark (1st Poldark) (1945)
The Forgotten Story (1945)
Demelza (2nd Poldark) (1946)
Take My Life (1947)
Cordelia (1949)
Jeremy Poldark (3rd Poldark) (1950)
Night Without Stars (1950)
Warleggan (4th Poldark) (1953)
Fortune is a Woman (1953)
The Little Walls (1955)
The Sleeping Partner (1956)
Greek Fire (1957)
The Tumbled House (1959)
Marnie (1961)
The Grove of Eagles (1963)
After the Act (1965)
Night Journey (revised edition) 1966
The Walking Stick (1967)
Angell, Pearl and Little God (1970)
The Japanese Girl (short stories) (1971)
The Spanish Armadas (non-fiction) (1972)
The Black Moon (5th Poldark) (1973)
Woman in the Mirror (formerly The Giant‘s Chair) (1975)
The Four Swans (6th Poldark) (1976)
The Angry Tide (7th Poldark) (1977)
The Merciless Ladies (revised edition) (1979)
The Stranger from the Sea (8th Poldark) (1981)
The Miller`s Dance (9th Poldark) (1982)
The Cornish Farm (short stories) (1982)
Poldark`s Cornwall (semi-autobiographical) (1983)
The Loving Cup (10th Poldark) (1984)
The Green Flash (1986)
Cameo (revised edition of My Turn Next) (1988)
The Twisted Sword (11th Poldark) (1990)
Stephanie (1992)
Tremor (1995)
The Ugly Sister (1998)
Bella Poldark (12th and final Poldark) (2002)
Memoirs of a Private Man (autobiography) (2003)
Poldark`s Cornwall (re-published 2015)
Boscastle Cliffs © Photo: John Hunt
2021 © Official Winston Graham and Poldark website authorised by and copyright of the Winston Graham literary executors.
Winston Graham Literary Agents A.M.Heath & Company Ltd